Muito Kaballa

Germany
Jazz Funk Fusion Groove Latin African
Muito Kaballa

Labelled world music artists, Muito Kaballa, in fact, exhibits the charismatic abandonment of a punk provocateur. Informed by such post-punk luminaries as Maximum Joy (an outfit that was formed from the ashes of ‘70s peace-disturbers The Pop Group and Glaxo Babies, and employed Afrobeat rhythms), Kaballa executes an honourable balance between focused discipline and wily experimentation.

Muito Kaballa offers grooves of an Afrobeat persuasion, refracted through the restless energy of punk; kindred spirits Ebo Taylor and Fela Kuti, legends of African highlife music, impress upon his work indelibly.

Such musicianship has produced a pleasing cacophony in Everything is Broke (2019, Switchstance Recordings), the first album by founder, composer and tenor saxophonist Niklas Mündemann which started the project off as a one-man show. Everything is Broke takes in his usual influences of street funk, jazz, Afrobeat and just the slightest etchings of hip-hop. Edging out even further in his experiments this time, it explores the nervous, juddering energy of New Orleans inspired pop, running freely the course of the album with the sensual sounds of the city’s Latin Quarter.

After gaining attention quickly grew, Niklas decided to expand the one-man show, together with Jan Janzen (Keys) into a real band. Muito Kaballa then recorded their debut band album, Mamari (2021, Rebel Up Records). The result is a jazz album that brims with afrobeat, afro-cuban and funk influences and current activist thoughts on social equality, racial politics, climate change and more, all through the voices & bodies of this young ensemble. Mamari gained over 600 000 views on YouTube and quickly sold out.

This was followed by the album Little Child (2022) filled fat grooves with clearly recognizable Afrobeat influences. The group works together with the renowned German/Nigerian musician Ade Bantu and the Angolan guitarist Juresse Amie Tieti Ndombasi and picks up their listeners where they left off with Mamari.

Since then, the band has been touring Europe and released their third band album, Like a River, on 1 September via the London-based label Batov Records. The theme of rivers features heavily throughout the album – each song conjuring up the notion of being swept up in something you have no power to control.

Tourdates

11.03.2024 GB-London 100 Club Tickets
14.03.2024 GB-Newcastle Upon Tyne Cobalt Studios Tickets
15.03.2024 GB-Bristol The Jam Jar Tickets
16.03.2024 GB-Manchester Band on the Wall Tickets
17.03.2024 GB-Leeds Headrow House Tickets
Videos
  • Muito Kaballa Power Ensemble - Mamari
    Muito Kaballa Power Ensemble - Mamari
  • Muito Kaballa - Let Go | in Sensor Club (LIVE SESSION)
    Muito Kaballa - Let Go | in Sensor Club (LIVE SESSION)
  • Muito Kaballa - Little Child
    Muito Kaballa - Little Child
  • Muito Kaballa - Tin Tin [live @ Zugvögel Festival 2022]
    Muito Kaballa - Tin Tin [live @ Zugvögel Festival 2022]
  • Muito Kaballa Power Ensemble - Mamari (2021 - Album)
    Muito Kaballa Power Ensemble - Mamari (2021 - Album)
Images
  • Muito KaballaMuito Kaballa Muito Kaballa
Discography
Like A River
Like A River
2023
Batov Records
Little Child
Little Child
2022
Rebel Up Records
Mamari
Mamari
2021
Rebel Up Records
Line up

Nora Beisel - Vox
Tim von Malotki - Baritone Sax, Bass-Clarinette, Flute
Reinel Ardiles Lindemann - Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Benjamin Schneider - Guitar
Jan Janzen - Keys
Luna Weise - Bass
Leonard Gaab - Percussions, Congas
Andre van der Heide - Drums
Niklas Mündemann - Tenor Sax

Availability

Territories:

worldwide

2024 February, March, all year
Contact
Allegra Boothman
Allegra Boothman
Booking Agent
allegra@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 23

Featured artists

Newsletter sign up

Sign up for our mailings and don't miss any news again!

Sign up for our Mailings and don't miss any news again!

Muito Kaballa

Deutschland
Jazz Funk Fusion Groove Latin African
Muito Kaballa

Muito Kaballa, die als Weltmusikkünstler bezeichnet werden, zeigen in Wirklichkeit die charismatische Hingabe eines Punk-Provokateurs. Inspiriert von Post-Punk-Koryphäen wie Maximum Joy (eine Band, die aus der Asche der 70er-Jahre-Friedensstürmer The Pop Group und Glaxo Babies entstand und Afrobeat-Rhythmen verwendete), schafft Kaballa eine ehrenvolle Balance zwischen konzentrierter Disziplin und gewitzten Experimenten.

Muito Kaballa bietet Grooves der Afrobeat-Philosophie, die durch die rastlose Energie des Punk gebrochen werden. Ebo Taylor und Fela Kuti, Legenden der afrikanischen Highlife-Musik, sind unauslöschlich in sein Werk eingeflossen.

Diese Musikalität hat in Everything is Broke (2019, Switchstance Recordings), dem ersten Album des Gründers, Komponisten und Tenorsaxophonisten Niklas Mündemann, der das Projekt als One-Man-Show startete, eine angenehme Kakophonie erzeugt. Auf Everything is Broke finden sich seine üblichen Einflüsse aus Street Funk, Jazz, Afrobeat und leichten Anklängen an Hip-Hop. Diesmal geht er in seinen Experimenten sogar noch weiter und erforscht die nervöse, ruckelnde Energie des von New Orleans inspirierten Pops, der sich im Laufe des Albums mit den sinnlichen Klängen des Latin Quarter der Stadt vermischt.

Nachdem die Aufmerksamkeit schnell wuchs, beschloss Niklas, die Ein-Mann-Show zusammen mit Jan Janzen (Keys) zu einer richtigen Band auszubauen. Muito Kaballa nahmen dann ihr erstes Bandalbum Mamari (2021, Rebel Up Records) auf. Das Ergebnis ist ein Jazz-Album voller Afrobeat-, Afro-Cuban- und Funk-Einflüsse und aktueller aktivistischer Gedanken zu sozialer Gleichberechtigung, Rassenpolitik, Klimawandel und vielem mehr, alles durch die Stimmen und Körper dieses jungen Ensembles. Mamari erreichte über 600 000 Aufrufe auf YouTube und war schnell ausverkauft.

Es folgte das Album Little Child (2022) voller fetter Grooves mit deutlich erkennbaren Afrobeat-Einflüssen. Die Gruppe arbeitet mit dem renommierten deutsch/nigerianischen Musiker Ade Bantu und dem angolanischen Gitarristen Juresse Amie Tieti Ndombasi zusammen und knüpft dort an, wo sie mit Mamari aufgehört hat.

Seitdem ist die Band viel in Europa unterwegs und bringt am 1. September über das Londoner Label Batov Records ihr bereits drittes Album, Like a River, heraus. Das Thema der Flüsse zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch das Album - jeder Song beschwört die Vorstellung herauf, von etwas mitgerissen zu werden, das man nicht kontrollieren kann.

Tourdaten

11.03.2024 GB-London 100 Club Tickets
14.03.2024 GB-Newcastle Upon Tyne Cobalt Studios Tickets
15.03.2024 GB-Bristol The Jam Jar Tickets
16.03.2024 GB-Manchester Band on the Wall Tickets
17.03.2024 GB-Leeds Headrow House Tickets
Videos
  • Muito Kaballa Power Ensemble - Mamari
    Muito Kaballa Power Ensemble - Mamari
  • Muito Kaballa - Let Go | in Sensor Club (LIVE SESSION)
    Muito Kaballa - Let Go | in Sensor Club (LIVE SESSION)
  • Muito Kaballa - Little Child
    Muito Kaballa - Little Child
  • Muito Kaballa - Tin Tin [live @ Zugvögel Festival 2022]
    Muito Kaballa - Tin Tin [live @ Zugvögel Festival 2022]
  • Muito Kaballa Power Ensemble - Mamari (2021 - Album)
    Muito Kaballa Power Ensemble - Mamari (2021 - Album)
Bilder
  • Muito KaballaMuito Kaballa Muito Kaballa
Diskografie
Like A River
Like A River
2023
Batov Records
Little Child
Little Child
2022
Rebel Up Records
Mamari
Mamari
2021
Rebel Up Records
Line up

Nora Beisel - Vox
Tim von Malotki - Baritone Sax, Bass-Clarinette, Flute
Reinel Ardiles Lindemann - Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Benjamin Schneider - Guitar
Jan Janzen - Keys
Luna Weise - Bass
Leonard Gaab - Percussions, Congas
Andre van der Heide - Drums
Niklas Mündemann - Tenor Sax

Verfügbarkeit

Territorien:

weltweit

2024 Februar, März, ganzjährig
Kontakt
Allegra Boothman
Allegra Boothman
Booking Agent
allegra@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 23

Featured artists

Newsletter abonnieren

Melde dich an, um keine News mehr zu verpassen!

Melde dich an, um keine News mehr zu verpassen!