Son Rompe Pera

Mexico
Rock Latin
Son Rompe Pera

Originally performing alongside their father at local events since they were kids, Son Rompe Pera now find themselves at the forefront of the contemporary international cumbia scene with their sonic explorations of the classic marimba. Their unique blend of sounds comes as the result of a typical youthful rebellion, when as teenagers they left behind their marimba upbringing and began to play in various punk and psychobilly bands. Now they´ve come full circle, incorporating the marimba together with their rock influences, giving it a new twist never before seen.

Their live shows are a sweaty mess of dancing fans, and this garage-cumbia-marimba punk band never disappoints on stage. Their authenticity shines through as they give their modern interpretation of Mexican, Peruvian, and Colombian classics, as well as their own original material and some surprise covers. The contrast of the traditional marimba with their youthful attitude and street sense connects the audience to the past while they dance into the future.

Son Rompe Pera released their debut LP in March 2020 right as the Covid-19 pandemic hit, making it impossible to tour behind what many have called one of the best records of the year. Their last live show was at the Vive Latino Festival in Mexico City, where they performed alongside Chico Trujillo. The global lockdown didn’t stop them, as they were present in virtual events like Mole de Mayo in Chicago and the World Music Institute´s end-of-year celebration, as well as online festivals in Ecuador, Italy, Chile, Mexico, and Colombia. They became known for their weekend performances in Parque Mexico, as masked and socially distanced fans would come out to see them. With their name growing bit by bit, they were invited to do an ‘at home’ session of Live on KEXP, as well as being selected as an official band at the 2020 and 2022 WOMEX international music conference.

Videos
  • Son Rompe Pera: Tiny Desk (Home) Concert
    Son Rompe Pera: Tiny Desk (Home) Concert
  • Son Rompe Pera | Cumbia Algarrobera
    Son Rompe Pera | Cumbia Algarrobera
  • Sonidos del Barrio | Son Rompe Pera
    Sonidos del Barrio | Son Rompe Pera
  • Son Rompe Pera | Onplugged Sessions
    Son Rompe Pera | Onplugged Sessions
  • Marimba, cumbia y punk
    Marimba, cumbia y punk
  • SON ROMPE PERA en "Dosis para el encierro" #17AñosDe #Ibero909XVII
    SON ROMPE PERA en "Dosis para el encierro" #17AñosDe #Ibero909XVII
  • Son Rompe Pera - Full Performance (Live on KEXP at Home)
    Son Rompe Pera - Full Performance (Live on KEXP at Home)
Discography
Batuco
Batuco
2020
AYA Records
Line up

Alan Gama (marimba & voice)

Alfredo de Jesús Gama (marimba & vocie)

Jose Angel Gama (percussion & voice)

Raul Albarran (bass & voice)

Ricardo Lopez (drums)

Availability

Territories:

Germany, Great Britain, Netherlands, Northern Europe, Austria, Eastern Europe, Switzerland

2022 October, November
2023 June, July, August
Contact
Frank Abraham
Frank Abraham
Managing Director, Head of A&R Global Pop Music, Booking Agent
fa@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 20
Meret Engels
Meret Engels
Booking Agent, Production & PR
meret@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 24

Featured artists

Newsletter sign up

Sign up for our mailings and don't miss any news again!

Sign up for our Mailings and don't miss any news again!

Son Rompe Pera

Mexiko
Rock Latin
Son Rompe Pera

Son Rompe Pera stehen mit ihren klanglichen Erkundungen der klassischen Marimba an der Spitze der zeitgenössischen internationalen Szene Cumbias. Schon als Kinder traten die Gama Brüder mit ihrem Vater bei lokalen Veranstaltungen auf. Ihre einzigartige Klangmischung ist das Ergebnis typischer jugendlicher Rebellion, als sie als Teenager ihre Marimba-Erziehung hinter sich ließen und in verschiedenen Punk- und Psychobilly-Bands zu spielen begannen. Nun kombiniert die Band die Marimba mit Einflüssen aus ihrer Rockmusik und verleiht ihr eine beispiellose Neuheit.

Während Live-Shows enttäuscht die Garage-Cumbia-Marimba-Punk-Band nie und bringt Tanzliebhaber zum Schwitzen. Ihre Authentizität zeigt sich in ihren modernen Interpretationen mexikanischer, peruanischer und kolumbianischer Klassiker sowie in ihren eigenen Tracks und überraschenden Covers. Der Kontrast zwischen der traditionellen Marimba mit ihrer jugendlichen Haltung und dem Street-Style verbindet das Publikum mit der Vergangenheit, während es in der Zukunft tanzt.

Son Rompe Pera veröffentlichten im März 2020 ihr Debütalbum, genau als die Covid-19-Pandemie ausbrach, was es für die Band unmöglich machte auf Tour zu gehen. Ihr letzter Live-Auftritt war auf dem Vive Latino Festival in Mexiko-Stadt, wo sie zusammen mit Chico Trujillo auftraten. Die weltweite Sperre hielt die Band nicht davon ab, bei virtuellen Veranstaltungen wie dem Mole de Mayo in Chicago, der Jahresendfeier des World Music Institute, ebenso wie bei Online-Festivals in Ecuador, Italien, Chile, Mexiko und Kolumbien, aufzutreten. Bekannt wurden sie durch ihre Wochenendauftritte im Parque Mexico, wo sie maskierte und sozial distanzierte Fans begeisterten. Sie wurden außerdem zu einer ‘at home’ Live-Session bei KEXP eingeladen und als offizielle Band für die internationale Musikkonferenz WOMEX 2020 und 2022 ausgewählt.

Videos
  • Son Rompe Pera: Tiny Desk (Home) Concert
    Son Rompe Pera: Tiny Desk (Home) Concert
  • Son Rompe Pera | Cumbia Algarrobera
    Son Rompe Pera | Cumbia Algarrobera
  • Sonidos del Barrio | Son Rompe Pera
    Sonidos del Barrio | Son Rompe Pera
  • Son Rompe Pera | Onplugged Sessions
    Son Rompe Pera | Onplugged Sessions
  • Marimba, cumbia y punk
    Marimba, cumbia y punk
  • SON ROMPE PERA en "Dosis para el encierro" #17AñosDe #Ibero909XVII
    SON ROMPE PERA en "Dosis para el encierro" #17AñosDe #Ibero909XVII
  • Son Rompe Pera - Full Performance (Live on KEXP at Home)
    Son Rompe Pera - Full Performance (Live on KEXP at Home)
Diskografie
Batuco
Batuco
2020
AYA Records
Line up

Alan Gama (Marimba & voice)

Alfredo de Jesús Gama (Marimba & vocie)

Jose Angel Gama (Percussion & voice)

Raul Albarran (Bass & voice)

Ricardo Lopez (Drums)

Verfügbarkeit

Territorien:

Deutschland, Großbritannien, Niederlande, Nordeuropa, Österreich, Osteuropa, Schweiz

2022 Oktober, November
2023 Juni, Juli, August
Kontakt
Frank Abraham
Frank Abraham
Managing Director, Head of A&R Global Pop Music, Booking Agent
fa@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 20
Meret Engels
Meret Engels
Booking Agent, Production & PR
meret@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 24

Featured artists

Newsletter abonnieren

Melde dich an, um keine News mehr zu verpassen!

Melde dich an, um keine News mehr zu verpassen!