BCUC

South Africa
Jazz Funk Rock African
BCUC

A stone’s throw from the church where Desmond Tutu organised the escape of the most wanted anti-Apartheid activists of Soweto, BCUC rehearses in a shipping container-turned-community restaurant, where their indomitable outspokenness echoes in a whole new way. Like its elders, Bantu Continua Uhuru Consciousness sees its music as a hedonistic trance, but also as a weapon of political and spiritual liberation.

The seven-piece band has been mesmerising audiences both locally and globally with its indigenous funk and high-energy performances that have fast made it one of South Africa’s most successful musical exports. Artistic heirs to Philip “Malombo” Tabane and Batsumi, they give contemporary voice to the ancestral traditions of indigenous peoples. Jazz sounds of 1970s and ‘80s productions replaced by hip-hop influences and punk-rock energy, taking the listener on an intriguing epic journey, sharing their controversial yet interesting views on modern Africa. They tackle the harsh realities of the voiceless, especially the plight of the uneducated workers at the bottom of the social food chain. BCUC taps into the elusiveness of the spirit world of ancestors by which they are inspired. The Africa portrayed by BCUC is not poor, but rich in tradition, rituals and beliefs.

“We bring fun and emo-indigenous Afro psychedelic fire from the hood,” says vocalist Kgomotso Mokone.

2017-2019 were incredible, seeing them collaborate with legends like  Femi Kuti and Saul Williams and play the cream of European festivals including Glastonbury (West Holts), Roskilde, Dour, Worldwide, Womad, Fusion, Sziget, FMM Sines, Beaches Brew, Boomtown, Colours of Ostrava, Couleur Café. The next 3 will be even better….

Videos
  • BCUC - Yinde (Glastonbury 2019)
    BCUC - Yinde (Glastonbury 2019)
  • BCUC   'Nobody Knows' official video
    BCUC 'Nobody Knows' official video
  • BCUC 'Moya' at Gilles Peterson's Worldwide Awards.
    BCUC 'Moya' at Gilles Peterson's Worldwide Awards.
  • BCUC Live @ Roskilde Festival 2018
    BCUC Live @ Roskilde Festival 2018
Images
  • BCUCBCUC BCUC
Press
"This year’s most exhilarating newcomers."
The Guardian, 12.28.2018
"They were, without a doubt, the best thing I saw live in 2017." Gilles Peterson
02.01.2018
“Loved their set, it was one of my highlights of a great weekend” – Nick Dewey, Glastonbury Festival
06.28.2019
Discography
The Healing
The Healing
2019
Buda Musique
Emakhosini
Emakhosini
2018
Buda Musique
Our Truth
Our Truth
2016
Nyami Nyami records
Line up
7 musicians + 1-2 crew

Jovi - lead vocal

Hloni - backing vocal

Kgomotso - backing vocal

Luja - bass drum/ backing vocal

Skhumbuzo - marching/ bass drum

Thabo - congas

Mosebetsi - bass guitar

Availability

Territories:

Germany, Austria, Switzerland

2020 August, September, October
Contact
Frank Abraham
Frank Abraham
Managing Director, Head of A&R Global Pop Music, Booking Agent
fa@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 20

Featured artists

Newsletter sign up

Sign up for our mailings and don't miss any news again!

Sign up for our Mailings and don't miss any news again!

BCUC

Südafrika
Jazz Funk Rock African
BCUC

Nur einen Steinwurf von der Kirche entfernt, in der Desmond Tutu die Flucht der meistgesuchten Anti-Apartheid-Aktivisten von Soweto organisierte, proben BCUC in einem zu einem Gemeinschaftsrestaurant umgebauten ehemaligen Schiffscontainer, wo ihre unbezähmbare Offenheit auf eine ganz neue Art und Weise widerhallt. "Bantu Continua Uhuru Consciousness" (BCUC) sehen ihre Musik als eine hedonistische Trance, aber auch als eine Waffe der politischen und spirituellen Befreiung.

Die siebenköpfige Band hat das Publikum sowohl auf lokaler als auch auf globaler Ebene mit ihrem einheimischen Funk und ihren energiegeladenen Auftritten in ihren Bann gezogen, die sie schnell zu einem der erfolgreichsten Musikexporte Südafrikas gemacht haben. Als künstlerische Erben von Philip "Malombo", Tabane und Batsumi geben sie den angestammten Traditionen der indigenen Völker eine zeitgenössische Stimme. Jazzklänge aus den Produktionen der 1970er und 80er Jahre, die durch Hip-Hop-Einflüsse und Punk-Rock-Energie ersetzt wurden, nehmen den Zuhörer mit auf eine faszinierende Reise. BCUC teilen in ihren Songs ihre kontroversen und doch interessanten Ansichten über das moderne Afrika und setzen sich mit der harten Realität der Stimmlosen auseinander. Das von ihnen dargestellte Afrika ist nicht arm, sondern reich an Traditionen, Ritualen und Glaubensvorstellungen.

"Wir bringen Spaß und emo-indigenes afro-psychedelisches Feuer", sagt Sänger Kgomotso Mokone.

Die letzten drei Jahre, 2017-2019, waren unglaublich. BCUC arbeiteten mit Legenden wie Femi Kuti und Saul Williams zusammen und spielten auf der Crème de la Crème der europäischen Festivals, darunter Glastonbury (West Holts), Roskilde, Dour, Worldwide, Womad, Fusion, Sziget, FMM Sines, Beaches Brew, Boomtown, Colours of Ostrava und Couleur Café. Die nächsten drei werden noch besser sein. . . .

Videos
  • BCUC - Yinde (Glastonbury 2019)
    BCUC - Yinde (Glastonbury 2019)
  • BCUC   'Nobody Knows' official video
    BCUC 'Nobody Knows' official video
  • BCUC 'Moya' at Gilles Peterson's Worldwide Awards.
    BCUC 'Moya' at Gilles Peterson's Worldwide Awards.
  • BCUC Live @ Roskilde Festival 2018
    BCUC Live @ Roskilde Festival 2018
Bilder
  • BCUCBCUC BCUC
Presse
"This year’s most exhilarating newcomers."
The Guardian, 28.12.2018
"They were, without a doubt, the best thing I saw live in 2017." Gilles Peterson
01.02.2018
“Loved their set, it was one of my highlights of a great weekend” – Nick Dewey, Glastonbury Festival
28.06.2019
Diskografie
The Healing
The Healing
2019
Buda Musique
Emakhosini
Emakhosini
2018
Buda Musique
Our Truth
Our Truth
2016
Nyami Nyami records
Line up
7 Musiker + 1-2 Crew

Zithulele 'Jovi' Zabani Nkosi - lead vocal

Letlhogonolo Atlarelang Maphunye - backing vocal

Kgomotso Neo Mokone - backing vocal

Thabo Saul 'Luja' Ngoepe - bass drum/ backing vocal

Ephraim Skhumbuzo Mahlangu - marching/ bass drum

Daniel Thabo 'Cheex' Mangel - congas

Mosebetsi Jan Nzimande - bass guitar

Verfügbarkeit

Territorien:

Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz

2021 Juli, August
Kontakt
Frank Abraham
Frank Abraham
Managing Director, Head of A&R Global Pop Music, Booking Agent
fa@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 21

Featured artists

Newsletter abonnieren

Melde dich an, um keine News mehr zu verpassen!

Melde dich an, um keine News mehr zu verpassen!