Fatoumata Diawara

Mali
Singer-Songwriter Pop African
Fatoumata Diawara

Fatoumata Diawara has become one of the most important representatives of modern African music. She recorded with Bobby Womack and Herbie Hancock, played Glastonbury as well as other major festivals, and toured with Cuban pianist Roberto Fonseca. She formed a West African "supergroup" with Amadou and Mariam, Oumou Sangaré and Toumani Diabaté to record a peace song for Mali. She also boarded Damon Albarn's Africa Express, where she shared a stage with Sir Paul McCartney as a highlight. Nominated for two Grammy Awards and a Victoires de la Musique in 2019, awarded Best Female Artist at the Awards d'Afrique in 2020 and nominated for the AEAUSA in 2022 - with “Fenfo”, the follow-up album to her debut “Fatou” (2011), Fatoumata Diawara presented her entire musical diversity and received some of the most prestigious musical awards in the world. With the acumen of an African woman, she takes a critical look at controversial issues in today's society. Her sound is a perfect combination of electronic sounds, traditional melodies of the kora and n'goni, mandinka rhythms, and Fatou's distinctive voice.

As one of 11 children born to Malian parents in Ivory Coast, Diawara grew up in the ’90s in the Malian capital of Bamako. A celebrated child actor, Diawara starred in Dani Kouyaté’s critically acclaimed 2001 film Sia, The Dream of the Python. At age 19 she left home against the wishes of her family and joined the French street theater company Royale de Luxe, with whom she toured the world and began singing in the clubs and cafes of Paris. Diawara eventually found herself singing backing vocals for Dee Dee Bridgewater and Malian superstar Oumou Sangaré before signing with influential label World Circuit Records for her debut album.

Diawara broke out in 2011 with her debut album: “Fatou”, which featured guest performances from legendary musicians, such as John Paul Jones, Tony Allen and Toumani Diabaté. The record was hailed by Pitchfork as a “beguiling album” that “simply surrounds you with its atmosphere,” while The Guardian praised it as “an enjoyable, impressive set.” She later received two nominations at the 61st Annual Grammy Awards for Best World Music Album for her second album “Fenfo in 2018 and Best Dance Recording for “Ultimatum” in which she was featured with the English artist Disclosure.

The Grammy-nominated Malian Singer, songwriter, guitarist and actress released her highly anticipated new Album “London Ko” in May earlier this year via Wagram Music, collaborating with Damon Albarn from Gorillaz, who co-produced a number of tracks on the album.

With the new album, Diawara continues to reinvent traditional African music , combining her Mandinka roots with afrobeat, jazz, pop, electro nic and hip hop influences. That synthesis is reflected even in the album’s title combining the names of the Western metropolis of London with that of the Malian capital of Bamako.
Diawara notes , “ For me, London Ko means opening your mind. It also represents Damon Albarn’s connection to Malian music.” “London Ko”, a neologism coined by Diawara , represents an imagined continent bringing Europe and Africa together. W hile holding on to traditions, Diawara’s music gives a prophetic vision of what Africa can do. She invents an alternative space and time where it is possible to become master of your own destiny. Po sitioning herself as an actor in a future world, this album raises Diawara into the ranks of the great voices of Afrofuturism.

Tourdates

Videos
  • Fatoumata Diawara - Sete feat. Brooklyn Youth Choir (Official video)
    Fatoumata Diawara - Sete feat. Brooklyn Youth Choir (Official video)
  • FATOUMATA DIAWARA - MAMA
    FATOUMATA DIAWARA - MAMA
  • Fatoumata Diawara feat. -M- - Massa Den (Official video)
    Fatoumata Diawara feat. -M- - Massa Den (Official video)
Images
  • Fatoumata DiawaraFatoumata Diawara
Press
“Rich, textured guitars complement her native Bambara vocals and bring a contemporary feel to her traditional Malian sound.”
NPR Music
“There’s sorrow, long ing, worry, sympathy and determination in Ms. Diawara’s voice .”
The New York Times
“Fatoumata Diawar a has verve to spare, and a dynamic voice whose partial cloudiness is fundamental to its appeal ”
The Guardian
Discography
London Ko
London Ko
2023
Wagram Music/3ème Bureau
Maliba
Maliba
2022
3ème bureau
Fenfo
Fenfo
2018
Shanachie Records
Line up

Fatoumata Diawara – Electric Guitar, Vocal, Looping

Jurandir Santana – Electric Guitar
Juan Finger – Bass
Willie Ombe – Drums
Fernando Tejero – Keyboards

+ 3 Crew: Tour Manager, PA Engineer, Monitor Engineer

Availability

Territories:

Eastern Europe, Central Europe

2024 all year
2025 all year
Contact
Frank Abraham
Frank Abraham
Managing Director, Head of A&R Global Pop Music, Booking Agent
fa@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 20

Featured artists

Newsletter sign up

Sign up for our mailings and don't miss any news again!

Sign up for our Mailings and don't miss any news again!

Fatoumata Diawara

Mali
Singer-Songwriter Pop African
Fatoumata Diawara

Fatoumata Diawara ist zu einer der wichtigsten Vertreterinnen der modernen afrikanischen Musik geworden. Sie nahm mit Bobby Womack und Herbie Hancock auf, spielte in Glastonbury und auf anderen großen Festivals, und tourte mit dem kubanischen Pianisten Roberto Fonseca. Sie bildete eine westafrikanische "Supergruppe" mit Amadou und Mariam, Oumou Sangaré und Toumani Diabaté, um ein Friedenslied für Mali aufzunehmen. Sie ging auch an Bord von Damon Albarns Africa Express, wo sie als Höhepunkt die Bühne mit Sir Paul McCartney teilte. Nominiert für zwei Grammy Awards und einen Victoires de la Musique im Jahr 2019, ausgezeichnet als beste weibliche Künstlerin bei den Awards d'Afrique im Jahr 2020 und nominiert für den AEAUSA im Jahr 2022 - mit "Fenfo", dem Nachfolgealbum ihres Debüts "Fatou" (2011), präsentierte Fatoumata Diawara ihre ganze musikalische Vielfalt und erhielt einige der renommiertesten Musikpreise der Welt. Mit dem Scharfsinn einer afrikanischen Frau wirft sie einen kritischen Blick auf kontroverse Themen der heutigen Gesellschaft. Ihr Sound ist eine perfekte Kombination aus elektronischen Klängen, traditionellen Melodien der Kora und N'Goni, Mandinka-Rhythmen und Fatous unverwechselbarer Stimme.

Als eines von 11 Kindern malischer Eltern in der Elfenbeinküste geboren, wuchs Diawara in den 90er Jahren in der malischen Hauptstadt Bamako auf. Als gefeierte Kinderdarstellerin spielte Diawara 2001 die Hauptrolle in Dani Kouyatés von der Kritik hochgelobtem Film Sia, The Dream of the Python. Im Alter von 19 Jahren verließ sie gegen den Willen ihrer Familie ihr Zuhause und schloss sich der französischen Straßentheatergruppe Royale de Luxe an, mit der sie durch die Welt tourte und in den Pariser Clubs und Cafés zu singen begann. Diawara sang schließlich als Backgroundsängerin für Dee Dee Bridgewater und den malischen Superstar Oumou Sangaré, bevor sie für ihr Debütalbum bei dem einflussreichen Label World Circuit Records unterschrieb.

Diawara gelang 2011 der Durchbruch mit ihrem Debütalbum: "Fatou", das Gastauftritte von legendären Musikern wie John Paul Jones, Tony Allen und Toumani Diabaté enthielt. Das Album wurde von Pitchfork als "betörendes Album" gefeiert, das "einen einfach mit seiner Atmosphäre umgibt", während The Guardian es als "ein angenehmes, beeindruckendes Set" lobte. Später erhielt sie zwei Nominierungen bei den 61st Annual Grammy Awards für das beste Weltmusikalbum für ihr zweites Album "Fenfo" im Jahr 2018 und für die beste Tanzaufnahme für "Ultimatum", bei dem sie mit dem englischen Künstler Disclosure zusammenarbeitete.

Die Grammy-nominierte Sängerin, Songwriterin, Gitarristin und Schauspielerin aus Mali hat im Mai dieses Jahres ihr mit Spannung erwartetes neues Album "London Ko" über Wagram Music veröffentlicht und dabei mit Damon Albarn von den Gorillaz zusammengearbeitet, der eine Reihe von Titeln auf dem Album mitproduziert hat.
Mit dem neuen Album erfindet Diawara die traditionelle afrikanische Musik neu und verbindet ihre Mandinka-Wurzeln mit Einflüssen aus Afrobeat, Jazz, Pop, Elektronik und Hip-Hop. Diese Synthese spiegelt sich auch im Titel des Albums wider, der den Namen der westlichen Metropole London mit dem der malischen Hauptstadt Bamako verbindet.

Diawara erklärt: "Für mich bedeutet London Ko, dass man seinen Geist öffnet. Es steht auch für Damon Albarns Verbindung zur malischen Musik." "London Ko", ein von Diawara geprägter Neologismus, steht für einen imaginären Kontinent, der Europa und Afrika zusammenbringt. Diawara hält an den Traditionen fest und gibt mit ihrer Musik eine prophetische Vision dessen, was Afrika tun kann. Sie erfindet einen alternativen Raum und eine alternative Zeit, in der es möglich ist, Herr seines eigenen Schicksals zu werden. Indem sie sich als Akteurin in einer zukünftigen Welt positioniert, erhebt dieses Album Diawara in die Reihe der großen Stimmen des Afrofuturismus.

Tourdaten

20.06.2024 DE-Frankfurt am Main Zoom Frankfurt Tickets
22.06.2024 DE-Dachau Dachauer Musiksommer
Tickets
23.06.2024 CH-Basel Volkshaus Basel Tickets
30.07.2024 DE-Kiel Freilichtbühne Krusenkoppel, Open Air Tickets
31.07.2024 DE-Lübeck Kulturwerft Gollan, Halle 9 Tickets
12.12.2024 DE-Essen Philharmonie Essen Tickets
05.04.2025 CH-Fribourg Fri-Son Tickets
Videos
  • Fatoumata Diawara - Sete feat. Brooklyn Youth Choir (Official video)
    Fatoumata Diawara - Sete feat. Brooklyn Youth Choir (Official video)
  • FATOUMATA DIAWARA - MAMA
    FATOUMATA DIAWARA - MAMA
  • Fatoumata Diawara feat. -M- - Massa Den (Official video)
    Fatoumata Diawara feat. -M- - Massa Den (Official video)
Bilder
  • Fatoumata DiawaraFatoumata Diawara
Presse
“Rich, textured guitars complement her native Bambara vocals and bring a contemporary feel to her traditional Malian sound.”
NPR Music
“There’s sorrow, long ing, worry, sympathy and determination in Ms. Diawara’s voice .”
The New York Times
“Fatoumata Diawar a has verve to spare, and a dynamic voice whose partial cloudiness is fundamental to its appeal ”
The Guardian
Diskografie
London Ko
London Ko
2023
Wagram Music/3ème Bureau
Maliba
Maliba
2022
3ème bureau
Fenfo
Fenfo
2018
Shanachie Records
Line up

Fatoumata Diawara – E-Gitarre, Gesang, Looping

Jurandir Santana – E-Gitarre
Juan Finger – Bass
Willie Ombe – Schlagzeug
Fernando Tejero – Keyboards

+ 3 Crew: Tour Manager, PA Engineer, Monitor Engineer

Verfügbarkeit

Territorien:

Osteuropa, Mitteleuropa

2024 ganzjährig
2025 ganzjährig
Kontakt
Frank Abraham
Frank Abraham
Managing Director, Head of A&R Global Pop Music, Booking Agent
fa@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 20
Bia Rizzini
Bia Rizzini
Booking Agent, Production & PR
bia@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 23

Featured artists

Newsletter abonnieren

Melde dich an, um keine News mehr zu verpassen!

Melde dich an, um keine News mehr zu verpassen!