Rembrandt Trio

Netherlands
Jazz Classical
Rembrandt Trio

Rembrandt Trio is internationally known for their artistic curiosity and innovative collaborations that constantly keep moving jazz forward. They play a pioneering role in collaborating with European musicians, teaming up with, Kayhan Kalhor, Paolo Fresu, Vincent Peirani, Norma Winstone, Verneri Pohjola, Sylvain Rifflet and Perico Sambeat. Rembrandt Frerichs’ debut album Self Portrait was nominated for an Edison Award and in 2014 his A Long Story Short was also nominated for this prestigious Dutch award.

Their latest release A Wind Invisible Sweeps Us Through the World (2021) encapsulates the magic and universality of music, and how a shared curiosity drives the trio to travel and incorporate motifs, themes and experiences from all over the world into their work. The wind, air blowing through pipes of the organ, the invisible waves of sound that shape a song.

With Graffiti Jazz (2019) Rembrandt gives a nod to his past, as an ex-graffiti artists, he dropped an in-your-face Jazz EP, bringing the excitement and euphoria of illegal graffiti spraying into musical sound, form and rhythm.

The ground-breaking release It's Still Autumn (2019) opened the North Sea Jazz Festival in 2019 where it was called ‘One of the highlights’ of the Festival by Jazzmagazine. They have played at renowned Jazz Club, like Ronnie Scott’s in London, New York’s legendary Birdland jazzclub or opening the Taichung Jazz Festival in Taiwan, in front of 60,000 enthusiastic Jazz fans. Rembrandt Frerichs, Tony Overwater and Vinsent Planjer are a real 'working band': they rehearse weekly and have been touring all over the world for 14 years.

Rembrandt is well-known in the classical world for his skill in fusing improvisation with classical music. The trio's pianist and composer was recently working on a new project called Off the Carousel with his chamber ensemble, the Staalmeesters. He challenges the 10 musicians from Europe, along with his drummer Vinsent, to step out of their comfort zone, improvise during the performance, and restore musical freedom to classical music. Additionally, Rembrandt and Vinsent performed a piano concerto with the String Quartet of the Concertgebouw Orchestra in which the orchestral parts were composed by Rembrandt himself, while the piano and percussion parts were freely improvised.

Tourdates

01.12.2022 TR-İstanbul Borusan Music House
Videos
  • Rembrandt Frerichs Trio - Mélodie Antique (live @Het Concertgemaal 2021)
    Rembrandt Frerichs Trio - Mélodie Antique (live @Het Concertgemaal 2021)
  • THE MAKING OF video. Pianoconcerto Rembrandt Frerichs, Alma Quartet, Dominic Seldis, Vinsent Planjer
    THE MAKING OF video. Pianoconcerto Rembrandt Frerichs, Alma Quartet, Dominic Seldis, Vinsent Planjer
  • Rembrandt & de Staalmeesters: Off the Carousel project
    Rembrandt & de Staalmeesters: Off the Carousel project
  • jazzahead! digital 2021 - Rembrandt Frerichs Trio mp4
    jazzahead! digital 2021 - Rembrandt Frerichs Trio mp4
  • Made in Europe: Rembrandt Frerichs Trio with Michel Godard
    Made in Europe: Rembrandt Frerichs Trio with Michel Godard
  • REMBRANDT FRERICHS TRIO – LIVESTREAM CONCERT - GRAFFITY JAZZ
    REMBRANDT FRERICHS TRIO – LIVESTREAM CONCERT - GRAFFITY JAZZ
  • Kayhan Kalhor & Rembrandt Trio. Live at Royal Festival Hall. Southbank centre, London.
    Kayhan Kalhor & Rembrandt Trio. Live at Royal Festival Hall. Southbank centre, London.
Images
  • Rembrandt TrioRembrandt Trio Rembrandt Trio Rembrandt Trio
Press
“Rembrandt Trio strings together one pearl after another” "Rembrandt Trio reiht eine Perle an die andere"
Het Parool, 01.04.2022
“One of the highlights of the North Sea Jazz Festival'' "Einer der Höhepunkte des North Sea Jazz Festival''
Jazzmagazine, 07.02.2019
''Rembrandt Frerichs’ playing is as memorable as his first name: a young musician with remarkable chops who’s also developed an easily-recognisable personal style'' ''Rembrandt Frerichs' Spiel ist so einprägsam wie sein Vorname: ein junger Musiker mit bemerkenswerten Fähigkeiten, der auch einen leicht erkennbaren persönlichen Stil''
All About Jazz, 08.02.2017
Discography
A Wind Invisible Sweeps Us Through The World
A Wind Invisible Sweeps Us Through The World
2021
Just Listen Records
Piano concertos Nos 1 & 2
Piano concertos Nos 1 & 2
2022
TRPTK
Graffiti Jazz
Graffiti Jazz
2020
ZenneZ Records
It's Still Autumn
It's Still Autumn
2019
Kepera Records
Line up

Rembrandt Frerichs - piano & organ

Tony Overwater - bass & violin

Vinsent Planjer - drums & percussion

Availability

Territories:

Germany, Northern Europe, Austria, Eastern Europe, Switzerland

2023 all year on request
2024 all year on request
Contact
Ibrahim Bilen
Ibrahim Bilen
Head of A&R Jazz, Booking Agent
ibrahim@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 22

Featured artists

Newsletter sign up

Sign up for our mailings and don't miss any news again!

Sign up for our Mailings and don't miss any news again!

Rembrandt Trio

Niederlande
Jazz Classical
Rembrandt Trio

Das Rembrandt Trio ist international bekannt für seine künstlerische Neugier und seine innovativen Kooperationen, die den Jazz immer weiter voranbringen. Das Trio spielt eine Vorreiterrolle bei der Zusammenarbeit mit europäischen Musikern und hat sich bisher mit namhaften Künstler:innen wie Kayhan Kalhor, Paolo Fresu, Vincent Peirani, Norma Winstone, Verneri Pohjola, Sylvain Rifflet und Perico Sambeat zusammengetan. Sowohl Frerichs Debütalbum Self Portrait (2007) als auch A Long Story Short (2014) wurden jeweils für den renommierten Edison Award nominiert.

Ihre letzte Veröffentlichung A Wind Invisible Sweeps Us Through the World (2021) zeigt die Magie und Universalität der Musik. Von einer gemeinsam Neugier angetrieben, wagt sich das Trio erneut in unbekannte Gebiete vor um Motive, Themen und Erfahrungen aus der ganzen Welt in ihre Arbeit einfließen zu lassen.

Mit der Veröffentlichung Graffiti Jazz (2019) knüpft Rembrandt an seine Vergangenheit als ehemaliger Graffiti-Künstler an und veröffentlicht eine Jazz-EP, die die Aufregung und Euphorie des illegalen Graffiti-Sprühens in musikalischen Klang, Form und Rhythmus umsetzt.

Die bahnbrechende Veröffentlichung It's Still Autumn (2019) eröffnete das North Sea Jazz Festival 2019 und wurde vom Jazzmagazine als "einer der Höhepunkte" des Festivals bezeichnet. Sie spielten bereits in renommierten Jazzclubs wie dem Ronnie Scott's in London, dem legendären Birdland Jazzclub in New York oder eröffneten das Taichung Jazz Festival in Taiwan vor 60.000 begeisterten Jazzfans. Rembrandt Frerichs, Tony Overwater und Vinsent Planjer sind eine echte 'Working Band': Sie proben immer noch wöchentlich und touren seit 14 Jahren durch die ganze Welt.

Für seine Fähigkeiten klassische Musik und Improvisation zu kombinieren, wird Rembrandt in der klassischen Welt sehr geschätzt. Der Pianist und Komponist des Trios wagte sich erst kürzlich an ein neues Projekt Off the Carousel zusammen mit seinem Kammermusik-Orchester, die Staalmeesters. Hierbei fordert er die 10 europäischen Musiker:innen und seinen Drummer Vinsent dazu auf, aus ihrer Komfortzone herauszutreten, während des Konzertes zu improvisieren und die musikalische Freiheit in die klassische Musik zurückzubringen. Darüber hinaus spielten Rembrandt und Vinsent mit dem Concertgebouw Orchestra String Quartet ein Pianoconcerto, in dem die Orchesterparts selbst von Rembrandt komponiert wurden und die Klavier- und Schlagzeugparts frei improvisiert wurden.

Tourdaten

01.12.2022 TR-İstanbul Borusan Music House
Videos
  • Rembrandt Frerichs Trio - Mélodie Antique (live @Het Concertgemaal 2021)
    Rembrandt Frerichs Trio - Mélodie Antique (live @Het Concertgemaal 2021)
  • THE MAKING OF video. Pianoconcerto Rembrandt Frerichs, Alma Quartet, Dominic Seldis, Vinsent Planjer
    THE MAKING OF video. Pianoconcerto Rembrandt Frerichs, Alma Quartet, Dominic Seldis, Vinsent Planjer
  • Rembrandt & de Staalmeesters: Off the Carousel project
    Rembrandt & de Staalmeesters: Off the Carousel project
  • jazzahead! digital 2021 - Rembrandt Frerichs Trio mp4
    jazzahead! digital 2021 - Rembrandt Frerichs Trio mp4
  • Made in Europe: Rembrandt Frerichs Trio with Michel Godard
    Made in Europe: Rembrandt Frerichs Trio with Michel Godard
  • REMBRANDT FRERICHS TRIO – LIVESTREAM CONCERT - GRAFFITY JAZZ
    REMBRANDT FRERICHS TRIO – LIVESTREAM CONCERT - GRAFFITY JAZZ
  • Kayhan Kalhor & Rembrandt Trio. Live at Royal Festival Hall. Southbank centre, London.
    Kayhan Kalhor & Rembrandt Trio. Live at Royal Festival Hall. Southbank centre, London.
Bilder
  • Rembrandt TrioRembrandt Trio Rembrandt Trio Rembrandt Trio
Presse
“Rembrandt Trio strings together one pearl after another” "Rembrandt Trio reiht eine Perle an die andere"
Het Parool, 04.01.2022
“One of the highlights of the North Sea Jazz Festival'' "Einer der Höhepunkte des North Sea Jazz Festival''
Jazzmagazine, 02.07.2019
''Rembrandt Frerichs’ playing is as memorable as his first name: a young musician with remarkable chops who’s also developed an easily-recognisable personal style'' ''Rembrandt Frerichs' Spiel ist so einprägsam wie sein Vorname: ein junger Musiker mit bemerkenswerten Fähigkeiten, der auch einen leicht erkennbaren persönlichen Stil''
All About Jazz, 02.08.2017
Diskografie
A Wind Invisible Sweeps Us Through The World
A Wind Invisible Sweeps Us Through The World
2021
Just Listen Records
Piano concertos Nos 1 & 2
Piano concertos Nos 1 & 2
2022
TRPTK
Graffiti Jazz
Graffiti Jazz
2020
ZenneZ Records
It's Still Autumn
It's Still Autumn
2019
Kepera Records
Line up

Rembrandt Frerichs - Piano & Fortepiano

Tony Overwater - Kontrabass & Violone

Vinsent Planjer - Schlagzeug & Perkussion

Verfügbarkeit

Territorien:

Deutschland, Nordeuropa, Österreich, Osteuropa, Schweiz

2023 auf Anfrage ganzjährig
2024 auf Anfrage ganzjährig
Kontakt
Ibrahim Bilen
Ibrahim Bilen
Head of A&R Jazz, Booking Agent
ibrahim@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 22

Featured artists

Newsletter abonnieren

Melde dich an, um keine News mehr zu verpassen!

Melde dich an, um keine News mehr zu verpassen!