Nikitch & Kuna Maze

Belgium France
Jazz Electronic Fusion
Nikitch & Kuna Maze

The collaboration project between musician Nicolas Morant aka Nikitch and Brussels-based producer Edouard Gilbert aka Kuna Maze began when the duo met at the Chambery Jazz Conservatory in France. Before attending university to study jazz, both artists had trained in classical music while growing up in the Lyon countryside.

It wasn’t long until the duo started making electronic music together – a genre that wasn’t popular at the conservatory at the time, as retaliation. Born out of wanting to try something different, and a mutual love of the same artists, the pair produced their first beat on the train from Chambery to Lyon. Influenced by the likes of Flying Lotus (a pivotal artists for Kuna Maze, who started producing after hearing his fresh sounds), as well as Roy Hargrove, Thundercat, Flako, Dorian Concept, Tigran Hamasyan, Esböjrn Svensson Trio and Erykah Badu – the duo blend their influences from jazz, broken beat and a wide pallet of electronic music, into dance-floor package.

The duo perfectly syncretises their sound – with the vibrant colours of jazz, mixed with the frenetic beats of footwork & juke from Nikitch, combined with the granular synth-cosmict extures of Kuna Maze. This oscillation of jazz, downbeat, and hip-hop produces the duo’s signature sound, a crisp groove-laden output, that offers intimate and irresistible vivid textures to the listeners.

Part of the new wave of musicians, producers and DJs who are heavily influenced by the melting point of jazz and club culture – Nikitch x Kuna Maze draw parallels to UK counterparts such as Neue Grafik, Nubya Garcia, Joe Armon-Jones, and fellow broken beat revivalist Kamaal Williams aka Henry Wu.

Videos
  • Nikitch & Kuna Maze - Monopoli Driver (Official Video)
    Nikitch & Kuna Maze - Monopoli Driver (Official Video)
  • Nikitch & Kuna Maze ft. Raph Stark - Bruk (One Take Live)
    Nikitch & Kuna Maze ft. Raph Stark - Bruk (One Take Live)
  • Nikitch & Kuna Maze - Jazz & Shit ( Live Version ) feat Raph Stark
    Nikitch & Kuna Maze - Jazz & Shit ( Live Version ) feat Raph Stark
Press
Killer dancefloor business from Tru Thoughts that should appeal to fans of house, broken beat and Brazilian jazz-funk legends Azymuth.
Music Is My Sanctuary, 04.21.2020
Between house and jazz, the doping groove of Nikitch and Kuna Maze.
FIP, 05.19.2020
A collaborative project between Nicolas Morant aka Nikitch Edouard Gilbert aka Kuna Maze. Nikitch & Kuna Maze channel their instrumental skills to create compositions using their common chemistry; blurring the lines between improvisation, production and the art of DJing.
BBC Sounds, 06.27.2020
Discography
Débuts
Débuts
2020
Tru Thoughts
Line up
3 musicians + 1 crew

Nicolas Morant aka Nikitch - keys, synths, production

Edouard Gilbert aka Kuna Maze - base, production

Victor Pascal - drums

Availability

Territories:

Germany, Austria, Switzerland

2022 all year

Featured artists

Newsletter sign up

Sign up for our mailings and don't miss any news again!

Sign up for our Mailings and don't miss any news again!

Nikitch & Kuna Maze

BelgienFrankreich
Jazz Electronic Fusion
Nikitch & Kuna Maze

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Nicolas Morant alias Nikitch und dem in Brüssel ansässigen Produzenten Edouard Gilbert alias Kuna Maze begann am Chambery Jazz Conservatory in Frankreich. Vor dem Studium wurden beide Künstler in der klassischen Musik ausgebildet. während sie auf dem Land von Lyon aufgewachsen waren.

Diese frühe musikalische Entwicklung von Nikitch & Kuna Maze legte den Grundstein für ihre heutige Musikalität und ermöglichte es dem Duo, nach und nach die neuen künstlerischen Sprachen des Jazz und später der elektronischen Musik zu erkunden. Beide Künstler nutzten ihre Zeit an der Universität, um ihren Horizont zu erweitern, trafen auf andere Musiker außerhalb der Klassik- und Jazzkreise und begannen in der Folge aufzutreten und an Projekten zu arbeiten, die über das Curriculum des Konservatoriums hinausgingen.

Es dauerte nicht lange bis das Duo anfing, gemeinsam elektronische Musik zu machen – ein Genre, das damals an der Musikhochschule nicht populär war. Geboren aus dem Wunsch, etwas Neues auszuprobieren und der gegenseitigen Liebe zu den gleichgesinnten Künstlern, produzierten die beiden ihren ersten Beat im Zug von Chambery nach Lyon. Beeinflusst von Flying Lotus (einem zentralen Künstler für Kuna Maze, der mit der Produktion begann, nachdem er seine frischen Sounds gehört hatte) sowie Roy Hargrove, Thundercat, Flako, Dorian Concept, Tigran Hamasyan, Esböjrn Svensson Trio und Erykah Badu – das Duo mischt ihre Einflüsse aus Jazz, Broken Beat und einer breiten Palette elektronischer Musik zu einem Dancefloor-Paket.

Das Duo synchronisiert seinen Sound perfekt: Lebendige Farben des Jazz gemischt mit den frenetischen Beats von Footwork & Juke seitens Nikitch, kombiniert mit den granularen synth-kosmischen Ausflügen von Kuna Maze. Diese Oszillation von Jazz, Downbeat und Hip-Hop erzeugt den charakteristischen Sound des Duos, einen knackigen, groovigen Output, der den Hörern intime und unwiderstehliche lebendige Texturen bietet.

Teil der neuen Welle von Musikern, Produzenten und DJs, die stark vom Schmelzpunkt der Jazz- und Clubkultur beeinflusst sind, ziehen Nikitch x Kuna Maze Parallelen zu britischen Kollegen wie Neue Grafik, Nubya Garcia, Joe Armon-Jones und anderen Broken Beat Anhängern wie Kamaal Williams alias Henry Wu.

Videos
  • Nikitch & Kuna Maze - Monopoli Driver (Official Video)
    Nikitch & Kuna Maze - Monopoli Driver (Official Video)
  • Nikitch & Kuna Maze ft. Raph Stark - Bruk (One Take Live)
    Nikitch & Kuna Maze ft. Raph Stark - Bruk (One Take Live)
  • Nikitch & Kuna Maze - Jazz & Shit ( Live Version ) feat Raph Stark
    Nikitch & Kuna Maze - Jazz & Shit ( Live Version ) feat Raph Stark
Presse
Killer dancefloor business from Tru Thoughts that should appeal to fans of house, broken beat and Brazilian jazz-funk legends Azymuth.
Music Is My Sanctuary, 21.04.2020
Between house and jazz, the doping groove of Nikitch and Kuna Maze.
FIP, 19.05.2020
A collaborative project between Nicolas Morant aka Nikitch Edouard Gilbert aka Kuna Maze. Nikitch & Kuna Maze channel their instrumental skills to create compositions using their common chemistry; blurring the lines between improvisation, production and the art of DJing.
BBC Sounds, 27.06.2020
Diskografie
Débuts
Débuts
2020
Tru Thoughts
Line up
3 Musiker + 1 Crew

Nicolas Morant alias Nikitch - Keyboard, Synthesizer, Produktion

Edouard Gilbert alias Kuna Maze - Bass, Produktion

Victor Pascal - Schlagzeug

Verfügbarkeit

Territorien:

Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz

2022 ganzjährig

Featured artists

Newsletter abonnieren

Melde dich an, um keine News mehr zu verpassen!

Melde dich an, um keine News mehr zu verpassen!