Manou Gallo

Belgium Côte d'Ivoire
Jazz Funk Groove African
Manou Gallo

«I am proud to be both an African woman with a constant respect for traditions, while advocating a certain modernism through African music where Rock, Jazz, Bues, Afrobeat and Funk all have their place. I am free with music and thanks to it, I can imagine everything and travel everywhere».

When she arrived in Europe in 1997, she became the bassist of Zap Mama, Marie Daulne’s band, and performed on the biggest European and American stages. Since 2003, she has been leading her own bands and participating in numerous other projects (Manou Gallo Women Band, Groove Orchestra, Acoustic Africa and Music Machine). With her stage presence and incredible technique, she has become one of the leading women in this innovative Afro-European music that is appre­ciated worldwide.

Our favourite "Afro Groove Queen" comes back with a 5th album "Aliso", which will be released at fall 2021 and early 2022 through 2 related EP's. She celebrates in these new tracks all the African artists who inspired her, such as Féla Kuti, Manu Dibango, Franco, Ernesto Djé Djé, Marcellin Yacé.

In her first new single "Lady", Manou Gallo is judiciously tweaking an immortalized universal classic by the indisputable Nigerian singer and saxophonist Fela Kuti, recorded over 50 years ago for the album "Shakara". It is a thrilling new interpretation in which the civic dimensions of the original resurge with an instant force, thus celebrating the advocatory dynamism of women half a century after the scathing words and emotional messages of her illustrious elder.

 

Videos
  • MANOU GALLO - LADY (Live)
    MANOU GALLO - LADY (Live)
  • MANOU GALLO feat. BOOTSY COLLINS - ABJ GROOVE
    MANOU GALLO feat. BOOTSY COLLINS - ABJ GROOVE
  • MANOU GALLO   DJEDJE
    MANOU GALLO DJEDJE
Images
  • Manou GalloManou Gallo Manou Gallo Manou Gallo
Discography
Aliso (EP)
Aliso (EP)
2021
Contre Jour
Afro Groove Queen
Afro Groove Queen
2018
Contre Jour
Line up
Manou Gallo Sextet

Manou Gallo - Bass, lead vocal
Japhet Boristhene - Drums
Yannick Werther - Guitar
Norman Peplow - Keyboards
Gaspard Giersé - Saxophone
Ruben Hernandez - Trumpet

Availability

Territories:

Germany, Austria, Switzerland

2022
2023
Contact
Frank Abraham
Frank Abraham
Managing Director, Head of A&R Global Pop Music, Booking Agent
fa@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 21

Featured artists

Newsletter sign up

Sign up for our mailings and don't miss any news again!

Sign up for our Mailings and don't miss any news again!

Manou Gallo

BelgienElfenbeinküste
Jazz Funk Groove African
Manou Gallo

"Ich bin stolz darauf, eine afrikanische Frau mit einem immerwährenden Respekt vor Traditionen zu sein und zudem eine gewisse Modernität in afrikanischer Musik anzustreben, in der Rock, Jazz, Blues, Afrobeat und Funk alle ihren Platz finden. In der Musik bin ich frei und kann mir dank dessen alles vorstellen und überall hinreisen."

Als sie 1997 in Europa ankam wurde Manou Gallo zur Bassistin von Zap Mama, der Band von Marie Daulne. Mit ihr performte sie auf den größten Bühnen Europas und Amerikas. Seit 2003 leitet sie ihre eigenen Bands und wirkt in zahlreichen anderen Projekten mit, wie die Manou Gallo Women Band, Groove Orchestra, Acoustic Africa und Music Machine. Mit ihrer unglaublichen Bühnenpräsenz und Technik wurde sie eine der führenden Frauen der innovativen afro-europäischen Musik, die weltweit geschätzt wird.

Unsere "Afro Groove Queen" kehrte im November 2021 mit ihrer EP "Aliso" zurück, worauf 2022 zwei verwandte EPs folgen werden. In diesen Werken feiert Gallo all die Künstlerinnen und Künstler, die sie inspiriert haben, darunter Fela Kuti, Manu Dibango, Franco, Ernesto Djé Djé und Marcellin Yacé.

Mit ihrer ersten neuen Single "Lady" überarbeitete Manou Gallo einen unsterblichen Klassiker der unbestreitbaren nigerianischen Gesangs- und Saxophon-Legende Fela Kuti, wessen Original vor über 50 Jahren aufgenommen wurde. Diese Neuinterpretation lässt die befürwortende Dynamik von Frauen im Kampf um Gleichberechtigung ein halbes Jahrhundert nach den mitreißenden Botschaften ihres berühmten Vorbildes wieder auferleben.

Videos
  • MANOU GALLO - LADY (Live)
    MANOU GALLO - LADY (Live)
  • MANOU GALLO feat. BOOTSY COLLINS - ABJ GROOVE
    MANOU GALLO feat. BOOTSY COLLINS - ABJ GROOVE
  • MANOU GALLO   DJEDJE
    MANOU GALLO DJEDJE
Bilder
  • Manou GalloManou Gallo Manou Gallo Manou Gallo
Diskografie
Aliso (EP)
Aliso (EP)
2021
Contre Jour
Afro Groove Queen
Afro Groove Queen
2018
Contre Jour
Line up
Manou Gallo Sextet

Manou Gallo - Bass, lead vocal
Japhet Boristhene - Drums
Yannick Werther - Guitar
Norman Peplow - Keyboards
Gaspard Giersé - Saxophone
Ruben Hernandez - Trumpet

Verfügbarkeit

Territorien:

Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz

2022
2023
Kontakt
Frank Abraham
Frank Abraham
Managing Director, Head of A&R Global Pop Music, Booking Agent
fa@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 21

Featured artists

Newsletter abonnieren

Melde dich an, um keine News mehr zu verpassen!

Melde dich an, um keine News mehr zu verpassen!