La Chiva Gantiva

Belgium Colombia
Rock Latin
La Chiva Gantiva

With explosive live performances these seven musicians are taking over the stages of Europe and already amazed the audiences of Fusion Festival, Esperanzah!, Dranouter, Paleo, Roskilde and Burg Herzberg – just to name a few. Rustic, traditional percussion is getting mixed with heavy rock drums, E-Bass, Saxophone and clarinet to a transboundary sound clash. This danceable and moving mixture is influenced by a diversity of afro Columbian stiles – not only the widely known Cumbia, but also Currulao or Paranda.

When three Columbian percussionists arrive in the multi-cultural capital of Belgium they soon get lost in the urban life of the metropolis. That is where they decide to form a band to satisfy their nostalgia. But the sound isn’t meant to be stuck in his Columbian roots so the band expands naturally and soon four other artists – coming from France, Vietnam, Wallonia and Flandern- join the band and bring their influences. Together they casually create a positive and urban sound which goes straight into your hips.

In fall 2017 La Chiva Gantiva are releasing their spectacular third album. Recorded in their own studio in Brussels und partly produced by Ivan Benavides (responsible for Toto la Momposina, Sidestepper and many more) the incoming project reflects the increasing maturity and professionality of the artists, which grew during their numerous performances at many international festivals and continuously traveling the world. Their undoubted talent on stage, but also their creative and elaborate video projects will surely don´t stand in the way of this amazing group. We can´t wait to hear more!

Videos
  • La Chiva Gantiva - Teaser New Album 2017
    La Chiva Gantiva - Teaser New Album 2017
  • Cuero - La Chiva Gantiva Ft Speech Thomas (Arrested Development) - Official Music Video
    Cuero - La Chiva Gantiva Ft Speech Thomas (Arrested Development) - Official Music Video
  • La Chiva Gantiva - Cuero - Session (Eurockéennes 2017)
    La Chiva Gantiva - Cuero - Session (Eurockéennes 2017)
  • La Chiva Gantiva - "LA PECOSA"- Live @ Jazz à Vienne 2014
    La Chiva Gantiva - "LA PECOSA"- Live @ Jazz à Vienne 2014
Press
"Frenetic carnival-punk racket that detonates like a Molotov cocktail of rock, rap, soul and ferociously funky Latin rhythms”
The Times
"Die funkigen Rhythmen sitzen perfekt, die Rockzitate haben den nötigen Biss, und [...] auch Songs in Rap- und Soulmanier [werden] bestens umgesetzt."
Nordwest-Zeitung
Discography
Despegue
Despegue
2017
Flowfish Records
Vivo
Vivo
2014
Crammed Discs
Line up

Natalia Gantiva - percussion
Rafael Espinel - lead vocals, percussion
Felipe Deckers - guitar, tiple
Tuan Ho Duc - saxophone
Jose Buch - bass
Martin Méreau - drums

Availability

Territories:

Africa, Asia, Australia, Germany, Austria, Eastern Europe, Switzerland, Scandinavia

2018 all year
Contact
Nils Kreutzfeldt
Nils Kreutzfeldt
Booking Agent
nils@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 23
Leya Jerzy
Leya Jerzy
Production & PR
leya@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 33

Featured artists

La Chiva Gantiva

BelgienKolumbien
Rock Latin
La Chiva Gantiva

Die sechsköpfige Band macht mit ihren explosiven Live-Auftritten die Bühnen Europas unsicher und hat bereits auf dem Fusion Festival, Esperanzah!, Dranouter, Paleo, Roskilde, Burg Herzberg uvm... für mächtig Furore gesorgt. Rustikale, traditionelle Perkussion paart sich hier mit derbem Rockschlagzeug, E-Bass, Saxofon oder Klarinette zu einem grenzüberschreitenden Soundclash. Die tanzbare und treibende Mixtur ist getränkt von diversen afrokolumbianischen Stilen – neben allseits bekanntem Cumbia auch Currulao oder Paranda.

Als drei junge, kolumbianische Perkussionisten in der belgischen Multi-Kulti-Hauptstadt Brüssel landen und sich schnell im urbanen Treiben der Metropole verlieren, wird eine Band gegründet, um die Sehnsucht nach Heimat zu stillen. Damit der Sound nicht in seinen kolumbianischen Wurzeln stecken bleibt, wird die Band natürlicherweise erweitert und schnell tummeln sich ein Flame, ein Wallone, ein Vietnamese und ein Franzose um die drei Kolumbianer. Gemeinsam erschaffen sie in zwangloser Atmosphäre straßenaffine und lebensbejahende Klänge, die direkt in die Hüfte fahren.

Im Herbst 2017 werden La Chiva Gantiva ihr spektakuläres, drittes Album veröffentlichen. Aufgenommen in ihrem Studio in Brüssel und zum Teil produziert von Ivan Benavides (verantwortlich für Toto la Momposina, Sidestepper uvm.), reflektiert das kommende Projekt die wachsende Reife und Professionalität der Künstler, welche durch unzählige Auftritte in großen Festivals und dem kontinuierlichen Um-Die-Welt-Reisen geprägt wurde. Ihr unbestrittenes Können auf der Bühne, sowie kreative und aufwendige Videoprojekte werden der Zukunft dieser fantastischen Truppe absolut nicht im Wege stehen. Wir freuen uns auf mehr!

Videos
  • La Chiva Gantiva - Teaser New Album 2017
    La Chiva Gantiva - Teaser New Album 2017
  • Cuero - La Chiva Gantiva Ft Speech Thomas (Arrested Development) - Official Music Video
    Cuero - La Chiva Gantiva Ft Speech Thomas (Arrested Development) - Official Music Video
  • La Chiva Gantiva - Cuero - Session (Eurockéennes 2017)
    La Chiva Gantiva - Cuero - Session (Eurockéennes 2017)
  • La Chiva Gantiva - "LA PECOSA"- Live @ Jazz à Vienne 2014
    La Chiva Gantiva - "LA PECOSA"- Live @ Jazz à Vienne 2014
Presse
"Frenetic carnival-punk racket that detonates like a Molotov cocktail of rock, rap, soul and ferociously funky Latin rhythms”
The Times
"Die funkigen Rhythmen sitzen perfekt, die Rockzitate haben den nötigen Biss, und [...] auch Songs in Rap- und Soulmanier [werden] bestens umgesetzt."
Nordwest-Zeitung
Diskografie
Despegue
Despegue
2017
Flowfish Records
Vivo
Vivo
2014
Crammed Discs
Line up

Natalia Gantiva - percussion
Rafael Espinel - lead vocals, percussion
Felipe Deckers - guitar, tiple
Tuan Ho Duc - saxophone
Jose Buch - bass
Martin Méreau - drums

Verfügbarkeit

Territorien:

Afrika, Asien, Australien, Deutschland, Österreich, Osteuropa, Schweiz, Skandinavien

2018 ganzjährig
Kontakt
Nils Kreutzfeldt
Nils Kreutzfeldt
Booking Agent
nils@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 23
Leya Jerzy
Leya Jerzy
Production & PR
leya@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 33

Featured artists