Islam Chipsy & EEK

Electronic Pop Mediterranean Middle East
Islam Chipsy & EEK

One of the most thrilling pioneers of the so called Electro-Sha’abi: They’re coming from the legendary street parties in Cairo straight to the dancefloors of Europe!

The virtuoso keyboard player Islam Chipsy and the two highspeed drummers Khaled and Islam Ta’ta‘ (EEK) are delivering acoustic fireworks honeycombed with psychedelic trance elements and panarabic melodies which go straight into ears and legs.

For years now Sha’abi music is setting the rhythm for communal ecstatics at the well-attended and frequently occurring outdoor-parties in the streets of Egypt. This kind of street pop, which finds its roots in the working-class, is political and very electrifying. Artists like Islam Chipy & EEK who expanded this genre with electronic elements have convinced many fans on big festival stages because of their inevitable drive and appealing sound.

After a first live-EP the debut album “Kharaba” was released in 2015. The album reveals the artistically unique spectrum of the band – from fast rhythms up to beautiful self-interpretations of Egyptian folksongs. With a new album in the making we are looking forward for new hot tracks to be released!

  • We Are Europe : Islam Chipsy & E.E.K, live @ Insomnia Festival – ARTE Concert
    We Are Europe : Islam Chipsy & E.E.K, live @ Insomnia Festival – ARTE Concert
  • Islam Chipsy aux Trans Musicales
    Islam Chipsy aux Trans Musicales
  • E.E.K. Feat. Islam Chipsy @ Tusk Festival 2014
    E.E.K. Feat. Islam Chipsy @ Tusk Festival 2014
„They push at boundaries of dance-based music that are widely known and understood… It is astonishing, exhilarating, inventive music by any measure."
The Wire
"„One of the most exciting live propositions on the planet“ schrieb etwa das legendäre Londoner Café OTO über die drei anlässlich einer Residenz dort. Und wer beim ersten Hamburg-Konzert von Islam Chipsy & EEK auf dem Kampnagel Sommerfestival 2015 war, weiß, dass das noch harmlos formuliert ist."
" A truly unique experience." "A truly unique experience."
The Guardian
Line up

Islam Chipsy - Keyboard
Khaled Mando - Drums
Mahmoud Refat - Drums



Germany, Austria, Switzerland

2018 all year
Nils Kreutzfeldt
Nils Kreutzfeldt
Booking Agent / +49 30 26 103 29 23
Christin Plötz
Christin Plötz
Production & PR / +49 30 26 103 29 32

Featured artists

Islam Chipsy & EEK

Ägypten
Electronic Pop Mediterranean Middle East
Islam Chipsy & EEK

Einer der aufregendsten Pioniere des sogenannten Electro-Sha’abi: Sie kommen von den legendären Straßenpartys in Kairo direkt auf die Tanzflächen Europas!

Der virtuose Keyboard-Spieler Islam Chipsy liefert mit den zwei Hochgeschwindigkeits-Schlagzeugern Khaled und Islam Ta’ta‘ (EEK) akustische Feuerwerke durchzogen von psychedelischen Trance-Elementen und panarabischen Melodien, die sofort in Ohren und Beine gehen.

Sha’abi-Musik ist seit Jahren Taktgeber bei den kommunalen Ekstasen der regelmäßigen und vielbesuchten Outdoorpartys in den Straßen Ägyptens. Diese Art Straßenpop mit Wurzeln in der Arbeiterklasse ist politisch und zugleich überaus ansteckend. Das beweisen auch Islam Chipsy & EEK, die das Genre mit elektronischer Musik erweitert und mittlerweile viele Fans auf angesagten Festivalbühnen von ihrer treibenden Anziehungskraft überzeugt haben.

Nach einer ersten Live-EP erschien 2015 das Debut-Album „Kharaba“, welches das künstlerisch einzigartige Spektrum der Band – von rasend schnellen Rythmen bis hin zu wunderschönen Eigeninterpretationen ägyptischer Volkslieder – hervorragend einfing. Dem neuen Album steht daher umso größere Vorfreude gegenüber und wir fiebern dem Release schon heftig entgegen!

Videos
  • Islam Chipsy aux Trans Musicales
    Islam Chipsy aux Trans Musicales
Presse
„They push at boundaries of dance-based music that are widely known and understood… It is astonishing, exhilarating, inventive music by any measure."
The Wire
"„One of the most exciting live propositions on the planet“ schrieb etwa das legendäre Londoner Café OTO über die drei anlässlich einer Residenz dort. Und wer beim ersten Hamburg-Konzert von Islam Chipsy & EEK auf dem Kampnagel Sommerfestival 2015 war, weiß, dass das noch harmlos formuliert ist."
Kampnagel
" A truly unique experience." "A truly unique experience."
The Guardian
Diskografie
Kahraba
Kahraba
2015
Line up

Islam Chipsy - Keyboard
Khaled Mando - Drums
Mahmoud Refat - Drums

Verfügbarkeit

Territorien:

Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz

2018 ganzjährig
Kontakt
Nils Kreutzfeldt
Nils Kreutzfeldt
Booking Agent
nils@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 23
Leya Jerzy
Leya Jerzy
Production & PR
leya@f-cat.de / +49 30 26 103 29 33

Featured artists